Day 18: A Movie that Disappointed you the Most

confessionsquad

 

I’d heard such good things about this film from so many people; people who’s opinions on films I trust because they have good taste. The posters for this were up all over Udine Far East Film Festival (not sure why, it wasn’t screened at the festival) and it sounded good. After hearing from a lot of people that it’s a good film, and reading some pretty positive reviews I knew I had to see it so I bought a copy. Fortunately I got it reasonably cheap because I hated it.
For me Confessions did not live up to its hype at all. Never have I willed a film to end as much as I did with Confessions; from about 45 minutes in I was exasperatedly praying for it to end, I came close to just giving up and turning it off.
I wasn’t disappointed because it wasn’t a J-horror like the write-up on the cover had pegged it to be, and I wasn’t disappointed because there wasn’t much blood and gore and it wasn’t scary. I love drama, especially psychological drama so this should’ve been right up my street. What disappointed me was the fact that it bored be senseless, it dragged slowly, very little seemed to happen and I was willing it to end almost as soon as it started.
Don’t get me wrong, I can totally see what people see in it, but for me the definition of a disappointing film is one that you cannot wait to watch and are excited about, that ends up almost sending you to sleep. And that’s exactly what happened here.

7 thoughts on “Day 18: A Movie that Disappointed you the Most

  1. I haven’t heard of this one.

    One of my biggest disappointments took place in 1997; how exciting was it for Arnold Schwarzenegger who was the biggest action star of the 80’s & 90’s to join the Batman franchise…so naturally I was excited to see “Batman & Robin”.

    You know the rest of the story…

    Like

    1. Haha I’ve not seen any of the batman films, shameful I know.
      I wouldn’t bother with Confessions, not one I’d recommend!

      Like

      1. You definitely need to check out the Christopher Nolan trilogy. “The Dark Knight” is an all-time classic.

        Tim Burton’s “Batman” with Jack Nicholson playing the Joker is also good; the other 3 of that franchise isn’t so great, although I do think watching Jim Carrey play The Riddler in “Batman Forever” was enjoyable.

        Like

      2. Oh, I have seen the dark knight…that’s the only one though. Wasn’t my cup of tea but I liked Heath Ledger as the Joker.

        Like

Leave a Reply

