Game of Thrones Finally Got Good!

*Caution!* There may be spoilers ahead so if you’ve not seen season 1 – 5 of GoT then look away now!

You may remember my previous article Game of Thrones: What’s All the Fuss About?ย which I wrote when I first started watching it a few months ago. I was very late to the GoT party and having heard so much about how good it is I found myself very underwhelmed when the first series ended.

To tell the truth I didn’t actually get into Game of Thrones until about halfway through the third series when things, in my opinion, started to get good. And then as soon as Joffrey died I was hooked, I’d been waiting for that moment the entire time!

For some reason up until around halfway through season 3 I just found the show boring. I’ve never got on very well with fantasy and find all the complicated storylines, made up words and strange names baffle me and I just don’t enjoy it. Game of Thrones was, initially no exception.

The turning point for me wasn’t anything in particular, but about 4 or 5 episodes in to season 3 I was hooked, wanting to watch episode after episode for hours on end. Season 4 was finished within two days and I have just three episodes left of season 5 now (please, no spoilers about the season 5 finale!)

Joffrey dying made the show so much more enjoyable, obviously actor Jack Gleeson must have done a fantastic job playing the role because I hated him with a passion since his first moment on screen. For a long time I didn’t give a shit about any of the characters and actually found myself willing them to die just to keep it interesting, but eventually that all changed.

I have heard several other people say the same about GoT; that it takes ages to get in to. Others were hooked straight away, I guess it’s all down to personal taste.

Back when I had no intention of ever watching Game of Thrones I indulged in many a spoiler just out of curiosity. When the obligatory ‘OMG GAME OF THRONES!’ Facebook statuses started appearing I felt the need to have a look to see what had rattled everyone’s cages, and while the ending of season 5 is still something to look forward to, I do have an idea of where it’s going and I cannot wait to see it unfold! Now that I’m hooked it’s difficult to stay away and as much as I can’t wait to finish the fifth series (which I’ll be doing tonight!) I’m also a little bit sad that that means I have no more Game of Thrones to watch until next year.

Something that slightly disappointed me about GoT is how not shocking it is. Maybe this is because prior to finally jumping on the Game of Thrones bandwagon I’d watched a lot of horror TV like American Horror Story and The Walking Dead as well as an abundance of horror films and nothing really shocks me much anymore. I was hoping for it to be outrageous and really push the boundaries but in comparison to all the raving I’ve heard from those that think it’s the most shocking thing on TV I actually think it’s pretty tame. Slightly disappointing, but it’s still an entertaining watch.

My favourite characters/moments

At the moment my favourite character is probably Tyrion. I know I know, not very original, but his storyline is keeping me interested which can only be a good thing. I have no clue what the future holds for him, hopefully not death just yet but at this point anything could happen!

The Jamie Lannister and Bronn storyline is one of the more interesting ones throughout season 5 so far, mainly because Bronn is hilarious and Jamie Lannister is good looking…a good combination! Things don’t look too good for either of them right now and now that Cersei’s sordid secret has been outed by the High Sparrow Jamie’s return to Kings Landing might cause him more trouble than he’s already in.

My favourite moment so far has been Joffrey’s death, so I am eagerly awaiting the death of his equally evil and horrible mother which, thanks to spoilers long before I even started watching Game of Thrones, I know will be coming very soon.

All in all Game of Thrones has got much better since the start and I’m totally hooked now. It took me a long time to get to grips with who’s who but as soon as I did it clicked and I was hooked. I’ll be finishing season 5 tonight; can’t wait!

6 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Finally Got Good!

  1. Absolutely loved Bronn and Jamie going Questing/Rampaging. I’d Put Bronn and The Hound down as the best characters because they’re having a ball and get all of the best scenes / best lines.

    I was like you but got hooked a bit earlier. Season 1 was fairly boring, but understandably as it had to introduce everything. Once people started getting culled in S2 that’s when it got good for me. Nice summary though – makes me pine for the next season.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting that it took you so long to get into it – I was hooked by halfway through season 1. Hope you like the fifth season! It was my least favorite but, hey – it just may be your favorite! Would be interested to hear your thoughts on it. And, yes – Jaime Lannister is good-lookin’! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah weirdly I am really enjoying season 5 although it is a bit slow…nothing beats season 4 though, Joffrey dying gave me so much joy! Haha judging by the reactions I saw all over facebook I am holding out for a really good ending to this series…fingers crossed xD

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Natasha, how are you? I actually kept this post bookmarked for ages just so I could remember to come back and comment on it haha.

    Originally when I saw your first post in relation to GoT I was troubled and shocked by your words. There are very few people in this world that I’ve come across that don’t love GoT, so to see you slate it so hard made me wanna run over to my laptop and give you several reasons as to why you were wrong, but after getting into heated conversations over similar differences of opinion I opted not to.

    But then I saw this post and I smiled so much thinking “Yeah, she’s on the hype now and that’s how things should be.” Like some have stated before I’m surprised it took you so long to get on the hype, I was into it from season 1 and by that point the show had already aired its first and second seasons. Season 3 was definitely the point when a lot of cool and memorable stuff went down (I still remember the Red Wedding very well). But Joffery’s death, talk about satisfaction, it was all I ever wanted and while the way he died wasn’t as satisfying as a beheading or crossbow to the chest, it worked for what it was. These days we have Ramsay, the new asshole who needs to die and anyone who likes him after the shit he’s pulled are out of their minds.

    I love that your favourite character is Tyrion, he is a don, but also has the most compelling stories of all the characters he’s a good guy in a sea of horrible individuals and has had to endure so much pain and suffering too. It also helps that he’s extremely witty and funny too. Season 5 was decent, but probably the weakest season so far for me besides two or three key episodes (Jon snow the white walker army and Daenerys riding her dragon in Meereen come to mind). I hope that season 6 brings the fire and maybe you’ll be around to talk about it with me when it airs? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Sorry for the long comment but I had a fair amount to say. Forgive me! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey ๐Ÿ™‚
      Good to heard from you ๐Ÿ™‚
      Haha yeah I guessed a lot of people would think me insane for not liking the first series so much but it just wasn’t my thing…it takes me a bit longer than most to get my head around all the fantasy stuff I think!
      I now can’t wait for season 6 and will definitely be watching as soon as it comes out! Looking forward to it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

