Why I don’t think feminists protesting at the Suffragette premiere is something to praise


It was all over the news recently; a group of feminists held a protest during the red carpet event for the newly released drama Suffragette. The group, who were allegedly protesting against domestic violence against women, threw themselves onto the red carpet and laid there in protest, basically throwing a childish tantrum at an otherwise classy event.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the hardships that the suffragettes went through to bravely get women the rights that we now take for granted such as the right to vote and the right to equal opportunities. I am all for feminism when it’s done thoughtfully and when it’s actually needed. The suffragette’s fought for women’s rights at a time where women didn’t have a voice, something drastic needed to be done and their actions needed to be ‘outrageous’ in order to get their point across however these days, not so much.

Let me just say that I researched into this protest quite a lot before I aired my views online because I realise that what I say may offend and I wouldn’t want to offend people with ill-informed opinions. I wanted to know why these women were protesting and what for. Digging deeper it seems that the issues they are protesting against run a lot deeper than simply protesting against domestic violence. They were protesting because of budget cuts to many of the women’s refuges in the country that have been set up to house and care for women escaping violent partners. Wonderful, what brilliant charities and if the cuts and consequent protests weren’t so damn hypocritical, I’d be angry along with them. But then we get to the reason for the cuts; equality law now says that in order for the government to continue to fund these refuges, they need to start opening their doors to male victims (who make over 40% of domestic violence victims might I add) in order to offer equal support to victims of domestic violence. These charities shunned this, and in their refusal to treat men and women equally they’ve had some of their funding cut. They would literally rather have their funding cut than allow male victims to come to them for support.

A movement that allegedly believes in equality of the sexes sure is incredibly sexist. To me the idea of domestic violence refuges taking in male victims seems a no brainer. Many men, even those who are victims of domestic abuse, probably wouldn’t admit to it and seek shelter anyway because of the way we treat such men; blasting them as weak because what kind of man could be hurt by a woman? In a day and age where men literally can’t fucking do or say anything to a woman without fear of being branded sexist it isn’t that hard for me to believe that there are men out there who are abused by their female partners enough to make them desperately in need of refuge. We women can be pretty horrible at times! It would be hypocritical of feminists to indicate that men couldn’t possibly be the victim of domestic abuse because that implies that women are too weak to hurt a man which is a notion considered sexist if said by anyone else (predominantly if said by a man). So we can’t kid ourselves and try to perpetuate that men simply cannot be victims of domestic abuse because that opens up a whole load of other problems, most of which would be hypocritical of a feminist to suggest.

I have, as a woman, completely disassociated myself with modern feminism and while I applaud and admire women like Emma Watson and Jennifer Lawrence who have both recently used intelligence and class to speak out about the various injustices that women still face, I do not want a group of childish women who see fit to throw themselves on the ground at a red carpet event to presume to speak for me. I recently had a run-in with someone who believed that what these women did was admirable and justifiable, who jumped down my throat when I expressed a differing point of view. Isn’t that what a lot of these type of feminists do these days? They preach about how women need a voice but very quickly try to silence, censor and shun any women who happens to hold a different point of view, rather than praise ALL women ALL THE TIME because we ALL deserve to not only have A voice, but OUR OWN voice. If I don’t conform to your views, I don’t want you to aggressively try to convert me I want you to accept, however begrudgingly, that I as an independent woman have my own opinions about things.

Extreme feminism has turned rather ugly of late and has become a whiney, childish, man-hating affair offering nothing to try and help women to progress. Instead they almost set us back with their childishness and make a mockery of what it is to be a woman in this day and age. I thank the women who made it possible for me to go to university and to vote and to have equal chances at getting a good job, I really do, now let’s make them proud by working it! Let’s show that we are worthy of the rights we now have and make use of so freely by putting in the effort and being intelligent. Let’s stand up for what we believe in with dignity and class, let’s do what the likes of Emma Watson and Jennifer Lawrence do and celebrate women’s successes and articulate our thoughts with class and intelligence. Let’s not throw ourselves on the ground at classy events in protest of something that is actually caused by something incredibly sexist and hypocritical. Let’s not be man-haters who want equality but only when it’s in favour of women (because that’s not equality, darling, that’s simply role reversal). I hate that there are good men out there who have been put off by these nasty extreme feminist attitudes to the point of genuinely believing we women are all the same. It bothers me that while I take pride in achievements I have worked hard for, there are women out there who think that if they whinge and throw a paddy they’ll just get given something without having to work.

I will take my husband’s surname when we marry, my dad will give me away at my wedding and there’s a good possibility that I might give up, or at least cut down on my work hours in order to bring up children one day in the future. I like when my boyfriend holds the door for me and I don’t complain when he offers to pay for the date (although normally we split it, not because I’m a feminist, that’s just how we roll). I don’t want feminists to ruin some of these traditional values because a lot of us actually enjoy them. Refuge should be available for male victims of domestic abuse, that shouldn’t even be up for debate it’s obvious! So rather than praise these women for having a public paddy in protest of violence against women, look at the real reason behind the funding cuts they were protesting, check out the hypocrisy of their actions and let’s start praising the amazing, intelligent and talented women who are  advocating women’s rights every single day by working hard, showing off their talents and achieving in the face of adversity, and speaking up when they feel they need to speak up with dignity and intelligence.

 

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/aug/03/domestic-violence-refuge-crisis-women-closure-safe-houses

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/5109310/Womens-refuges-told-to-help-male-domestic-violence-victims-or-lose-their-funding.html

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/oct/07/feminist-protesters-storm-red-carpet-at-london-premiere-of-suffragette

19 thoughts on “Why I don’t think feminists protesting at the Suffragette premiere is something to praise

  1. Well written and beautifully articulated! I will be sharing this, thank you for standing up and putting it out there. I feel the same way, and yes it has encouraged me to dig further as this particular stunt just left me shaking my head thinking “oh wow, they’re at it again”. It’s time these petulant children stopped getting a pat on the head. I feel that the feminist movement has become one of total subversion, a movement where only the feminist is right. Yes, I have been blasted by feminists….for being a person who shapes the minds of our future leaders…oh sorry…..a housewife. There have been numerous scenarios, all designed to make us think that if we don’t fit into their militant narrow-minded victim reveling image, then by god we are not real women we are the enemy. I will stand up for humanism, and try not to be an asshole.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it and thanks for your comment 😀 I feel exactly the same way and definitely think we need to stand up and speak out against this kind of childishness because it reflects on all of us and I really don’t want people to think those kinds of feminists speak for me! Thanks again, and thanks for sharing 🙂

      Like

  2. As an advocate for men and boys, I really appreciate your well reasoned thoughts. It is my hope that men and women may one day work together for the benefit of all human-beings.
    Unfortunately this will not happen until these gender supremacist’s ideology is seen for what it really is – monomaniacal and hateful.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. BRAVO! Astonishing! Fantastic! I have absolutely nothing to add! Your article is of such lucidity, decency and straightforwardness that any woman who disagrees of what you wrote fits perfectly in all the adjectives you put on your article: childish, hypocritical, nasty, ill-minded woman. Actual (e.g. third-wave) feminism is not about sex equality at all. I am typing from Brazil, where I have already had the huge displeasure to read and hear feminists saying that their movement is not for equality indeed, but for empowerment. This is utterly disgusting! Here, in Brazil, just as in most of the western countries, women are far more privileged than men in lots of social spheres – here there is a law specifically for women, the so-called “Lei Maria da Penha”, here there are police officers exclusively for women, in spite of the fact that, each year, more and more men are fisically assaulted, sexually abused or mutilated or murdered by their female partners and seldom justice is made for them! I can recall a day when I went to the police officer for another reason and I saw a man complining about his violent wife – he had scratches all over his face and arms and blood came out of his mouth – and he was told to simply take a shower, treat his wounds (the officer offered to take him to a doctor) and go home later, when his wife would me more calm. What the hell?!?!?!?!??! Clearly that man hadn’t fight his abusive wife and who knows if she would be expecting for him with a knife or a fire gun at home – or even if she had hired someone to get rid of him (happens a lot in Brazil and more woman-to-men than man-to-woman on this specific case).

    Third-wave feminists are a bunch of pouty, childish, ill-minded crybabies whom do not want any social improvement, only the right to do whatever they want with no consequences. Is there something more childish and ridiculous than that? I am glad to hear what you wrote, Natasha, because I am one of these ‘good men out there who have been put off by these nasty extreme feminist attitudes to the point of genuinely believing you women are all the same’, as you said. Fortunately, it seems I am still wrong. Something must be done to brake these pathetic evil-minded female evil-doers’ nasty and pernicious attitudes, until the point they will become nothing but a bunch of discredited voiceless whiners.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BRAVO! Astonishing! Fantastic! I have absolutely nothing to add! Your article is of such lucidity, decency and straightforwardness that any woman who disagrees of what you wrote fits perfectly in all the adjectives you put on your article: childish, hypocritical, nasty, ill-minded woman. Actual (e.g. third-wave) feminism is not about sex equality at all. I am typing from Brazil, where I have already had the huge displeasure to read and hear feminists saying that their movement is not for equality indeed, but for empowerment. This is utterly disgusting! Here, in Brazil, just as in most of the western countries, women are far more privileged than men in lots of social spheres – here there is a law specifically for women, the so-called “Lei Maria da Penha”, here there are police officers exclusively for women, in spite of the fact that, each year, more and more men are fisically assaulted, sexually abused or mutilated or murdered by their female partners and seldom justice is made for them! I can recall a day when I went to the police officer for another reason and I saw a man complining about his violent wife – he had scratches all over his face and arms and blood came out of his mouth – and he was told to simply take a shower, treat his wounds (the officer offered to take him to a doctor) and go home later, when his wife would me more calm. What the hell?!?!?!?!??! Clearly that man hadn’t fight his abusive wife and who knows if she would be expecting for him with a knife or a fire gun at home – or even if she had hired someone to get rid of him (happens a lot in Brazil and more woman-to-men than man-to-woman on this specific case).

    Third-wave feminists are a bunch of pouty, childish, ill-minded crybabies whom do not want any social improvement, only the right to do whatever they want with no consequences. Is there something more childish and ridiculous than that? I am glad to hear what you wrote, Natasha, because I am one of these ‘good men out there who have been put off by these nasty extreme feminist attitudes to the point of genuinely believing you women are all the same’, as you said. Fortunately, it seems I am still wrong. Something must be done to brake these pathetic evil-minded female evil-doers’ nasty and pernicious attitudes, until the point they will become nothing but a bunch of discredited voiceless whiners.

    Like

  5. Emma Watson’s UN speech “He for She” has nothing to do with equality – it’s about men doing things for women, something ironically that feminists have always labelled patriarchy.
    Jennifer Lawrence complains that she should have been paid as much as Christian Bale and Bradley Cooper in American Hustle. Why? Does she have as much box office appeal? Was she the lead role? Did she negotiate as well?
    Both seem totally out of touch with reality so I’m perplexed as to why the author would support their views.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. When you comment on a WordPress article you’re talking to ‘the author’ 😉 as women, I admire both of the aforementioned actresses, not based on those speeches/open letters alone but based on their abilities and their personalities. I love Jennifer Lawrence’s sense of humour and how she is unashamed to be herself, something I look up to, likewise with Emma Watson. They are two women who I feel make decent role models and I can relate to them, that’s why I mentioned them.

      Like

  6. They make fun of people facebook-protesting mad max, but then throw themselves on the red carpet like loonies at a real life event for daring to make a movie they don’t like.

    I didn’t even know this happened. These nutjobs will literally protest anything if it means attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I really enjoyed your article Natasha. I have problems with Jennifer Lawrence’s logic in that letter, expecting as much pay for a lot less work in that movie as stars equal or bigger than her at the time, or complaining about gender discrimination before her next movie which will bring her almost double the salary of her co-star Chris Pratt. I understand what you’re saying about her general message though and I do applaud that, but 3rd wave feminism has a major coherence problem. The pseudo-scientific near religious dogma, it’s authoritarian overtones and outright bizarre sociological ideas, the fervency of many of its followers and its influence in the mainstream have degraded the liberalism I grew up with. Although I don’t doubt at all there’s still sexism in the workplace, the robotic, zombied repetition of the 77 cent wage stat which accounts for absolutely no relevant factors in workplace pay dynamics, is political waggery and either intellectual laziness or dishonesty at its finest. Your embracing of true Domestic Violence statistics would almost certainly be countered by someone on Jezebel spreading a falsely gendered belief that 90% of perpetrators are men to suit their gender warrior complex.

    So basically , ideology trumps reality with these people and I find this to be both damaging and distasteful to the point they are now giving the ultra right wing a run for their money in stupidity. I hope there are more people like you who will write and post blogs so that the voice of reasonable individuals who call themselves feminists will begin to prevail over the lunatic fringe. I don’t know any man, including myself of course, who does not support equality for women and their ability to live whatever lifestyle they choose…but I do know many men who think 3rd wave feminism and the Social Justice gang are basically freakjobs who are at this point, where women have essentially assumed their rightful place in society, harming gender relations far more than they are helping them.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for writing this article Natasha.

    As a man I have to confess I don’t fully understand what feminism is supposed to be right now since the goal posts seem to be different from woman to woman. At the risk of making a reductive point, it is hard to know whether holding a door open for a woman is a polite gesture or an offensive one these days.

    I understand the need for equality and respect for women in the workplace and in society but, as you point out, it is the extremists (as ever) who ruin a valid cause for everyone else.

    So, I write this reply because I too felt it was wrong to make a protest in the name of feminism at the premiere for a film that is ABOUT feminism. That’s akin to animal rights activists protesting outside a vegetarian restaurant to me! 😛

    But I digress. I never said anything publicly as I assumed I had missed the point and my view would be unpopular, so I am glad I am not alone in thinking the timing and target for this protest was erroneous and probably did more harm that good.

    So thank you again for assuaging that concern and for your reasoned and well researched explanation for why this is a flawed exercise.

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you very much for this article! I agree about the “own voice” especially – there are a lot of typical gender roles that I really, really enjoy with my husband and it pisses me off many extreme feminists would do away with them. And my husband is one of the most decent men I know, so their screaming that all men are horrible just…really puts me off modern feminism too.
    I really appreciate the effort you went to to have an informed opinion and understand what was going on, and therefore now I have an (further) informed opinion, too. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think your article was really interesting and you made some good points. however I come from a country where woman are oppressed and while feminists are not going about it the right way, feminism is still necessary

    Like

    1. im sorry about where youre from, but feminism isnt necessary.
      i think egalitarianism is necessary because that isnt sexist and it fights for equality.

      Like

Leave a Reply

