My 5 Desert Island Films

Recently I was asked my top 5 films and I found it very difficult to list them. Of course I have favourites, but they’re all favourites for very different reasons and it’s hard to narrow them down to a top five.

If I was going to be stranded on a desert island though, and could take five films with me which I could then watch over and over for the rest of my life, these are the five I’d take. They’re all there purely for entertainment purposes, a top five list of the best films I’ve ever seen would look very, very different.

1. Bridesmaids

Bridesmaids is one of the funniest girl comedies I’ve seen in a very long time and is yet to be defeated. I laugh out loud every time I see it, even though I’ve seen it about twenty times. It’s a go-to film when in need of a laugh or a pick me up, and it’s a great film to watch with friends. I don’t think I could ever tire of Bridesmaids, although watching it over and over on a desert island for the rest of my life could be a very different story!

2. Sherlock Holmes

Guy Ritchie’s Sherlock Holmes films are great entertainment. They’re laugh out loud funny, action packed and brilliantly made. A Game of Shadows is the first film that I’ve ever been to the cinema twice for, they’re just brilliant entertainment and they have it all. Of course Robert Downey Jr’s lead role helps *winky face*.

3. City Slickers

An all time favourite of mine ever since I was very young, City Slickers will never grow old for me. I’ve seen it many times and still haven’t grown tired of it and it’s a film that I know I’d miss if I wasn’t able to just grab it from my DVD shelf whenever I wanted. Classic comedy with all the elements you could hope for in that kind of film, plus an adorable calf called Norman! What more could you want?

4. Iron Man

Always one of my top films and always a go to when in need of some entertainment and a bit of eye candy. One of the better Marvel films, in my humble opinion, and one of the funniest Marvel characters. I’d definitely have to take this one with me to the desert island!

5. Dog Soldiers

Last on my list has to be Dog Soldiers, one of the best British black comedies of all time. Dog Soldiers is one of my favourite werewolf films and is always a good, action packed laugh with a few jumps along the way.

What would your five desert island films be? Let me know in the comments below.

9 thoughts on “My 5 Desert Island Films

    1. Lol its the one film that had me in tears laughing in the cinema, like I said if it was a list of the best films I’ve ever seen itd be very different, but if I’m going to be stuck for the rest of my life with just 5 I want to be entertained

      Like

      1. That’s cool – it’s your list after all. πŸ™‚

        Just don’t take it personally if I choose to be stranded on a different island… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Natasha! Glad to see you’re still making blog posts in a frequent manner and while I haven’t always commented, I have been watching from afar. πŸ™‚ Anyways interesting choices, I LOVE Iron Man, still one of my all-time favourite films and in these days of comic book films, it is very underrated. I’m surprised to find Sherlock Holmes on this list. Not to say that it is bad, I like it a lot, but again its intereting to know that it is desert island material for you.

    For me I’m not sure things would change beyond my standard top five, I guess with a few exceptions. It is a tough list to make up on the spot, but if I’m going off the top of my head mine would be: The Shawshank Redemption, Terminator 2, Ghostbusters, Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi and The Avengers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi good to hear from you πŸ˜€ yeah back into blogging again now I have a bit more time πŸ™‚ Good choices, The Shawshank Redemption would be up there on my list of best films I’ve ever seen for definite! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

