Annabelle

ANNABELLEThe Conjuring spin off Annabelle is quite possibly one of the best horror films I’ve seen in a while.

Let me begin by saying I don’t scare easily when it comes to horror films, I’ve grown pretty much immune. Obviously the tension is heightened when you see a horror in the cinema, but usually I don’t feel ‘scared’.

Annabelle had me shitting myself.

It’s like director John R. Leonetti took everything that made The Conjuring a great horror film and tripled it. While The Conjuring might be a ‘better’ film in many ways, Annabelle blows it completely out the park in terms of jump scares and nail biting tension. annabelle_a

When you have to physically look away from the screen cringing because it’s so ridiculously intense, you know you’re onto a winner. The scene where Mia (the mother to be who is being terrorised by the possessed doll) is sewing with a sewing machine, and you just know that at some point she’ll get distracted and the needle will go right through her finger is impossible to watch without cringing. They really draw out these tense scenes throughout the film and do a brilliant job of keeping you on the edge of your seat.

You can just see what's coming D:
You can just see what’s coming D:

Annabelle is everything I expected and then some. I didn’t really anticipate shitting myself, in fact I didn’t think it could possibly come close to being as good as The Conjuring but damn I was wrong! There’s even one horrible moment, which I won’t spoil for you, where Mia is smacking Annabelle’s head on the side of a crib in a fit of frustrated rage. I won’t tell you what happens (or at least what we are forced to believe has happened for a little while) but I can safely say it’s one of very few times my jaw has literally dropped to the floor in a film…”like, did that for real just happen?!”

Annabelle is definitely one to go and see for Halloween. It’ll really shit you up! It has the tension and the jump scares down to an absolute tee…brilliant!

5 thoughts on “Annabelle

  1. Cool review yo, you are the first person I’ve seen who actually has given this film a positive review a most have compared it negatively to The Conjuring. I won’t be seeing it for obvious reasons which you know already, but I’m glad to see someone liked this film.

    Like

    1. Really??
      I don’t think I’ve heard from anyone who’s seen it yet, but I went with a couple of friends who are horror fans as well and they loved it too.
      I don’t think it’s as good as The Conjuring in the way its made and the acting, but it scared me more…and that’s what I look for in a horror. There were so many jump scares!

      Like

      1. Yeah, well those are more professional critics, so some of them are bound to be a little snobby, especially since loads of them LOVED The Conjuring. I would love to watch it now because you make it sound good, but ain’t no way I’m watching a horror film on my own again for a while lol.

        Like

Leave a Reply

