Gravity

03Hailed as one of the best films of 2013, Gravity is a visual feast not to be missed in stunning 3D.
No, literally, don’t miss it in 3D…there’s no point watching Gravity anywhere but the big screen with a pair of 3D specs on your nose.

Dr Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock), a highly respected medical engineer, is sent on her first shuttle mission alongside veteran astronaut Matt Kowalsky (George Clooney) who is very much like a real-life Buzz Lightyear. The pair have to2 fight to get back to Earth as the soul survivors of the mission when an accident leaves them both adrift in space.

The visual beauty of Gravity and the incredible edge-of-your-seat tension throughout is unparalleled; it really is something of a break through in contemporary filmmaking. A combination of the fantastic performances from both Bullock and Clooney and the stunning visual effects renders Gravity completely enthralling and thrilling, despite not really having much of a story.

gravity-debrisApart from their names and the fact that Dr Stone’s four year old daughter died after an accident in the school playground, we know virtually nothing about the two protagonists, and yet it’s impossible not to invest completely in them. Much of the credit has to go to the performances which are fantastic, Sandra Bullock, who is often typecast in rom-coms as the unlucky in love career woman, is a genius casting choice, but something about the incredible visuals and the way Cuaron builds edge-of-your-seat tension from the start makes you feel as if you’re up there with them, stranded in space. The complete isolation paired with beautiful visuals detailing the expanse of space makes you feel tiny and you can’t help but empathise with Stone as she struggles against the odds to get home.gravity-cortometraggio

For a film that’s completely reliant on detailed visual effects, Gravity doesn’t faff around; it’s only 91 minutes, which by todays standards is quite a short feature, there are no ridiculously outlandish 3D effects and for the most part there’s only one character. The lack of faff is a huge relief and despite the heavy emphasis on visual effects it doesn’t feel unnecessary or over the top at all, while Pacific Rim (another very visually striking film of 2013) was over the top in parts and it felt like Guillermo Del Toro had been let loose with a new toy and wanted to gravity-movie-review-sandra-bullock-shiopplay with all the settings at once, Gravity is very carefully and tastefully thought out with amazing but not unnecessarily OTT visuals.

Definitely a film to be seen in the cinema, and possibly one to never watch on DVD ever, Gravity is a fine example of how amazing technology is these days but sadly is nothing without said technology. It remains to be seen, but my guess is that Gravity on a home TV screen is likely to be a total let down. Watch it while you still can!

12 thoughts on “Gravity

  1. Great article, and it raises an interesting point: is 3D cinema really a good thing? If it is such a wonderful spectacle as a result of all its multi-dimensional glory, then does that render it a disappointment when viewed in 2D? I mean, if the main appeal is the visual element then taking that away ruins it a little.

    Like

    1. me too to be honest, I rarely watch a film in 3D…I think I’ve only seen four or five 3D films. I only bother if I think the film will be better in 3D, Gravity is one of those films.

      Like

  2. Agreed. The film certainly is beautiful, emotionally moving and suspenseful. Good review!

    As I spell out in my own review, I really dislike the score, but overall this is still a darn fine flick.

    Like

      1. The music is certainly beautiful, as its own composition. Outside of the movie, I’d probably love it.

        I think it interferes with the drama, though, by never letting us experience the silence Cuaron promises with his pre-film summary.

        Like

      2. Yeah I see what you mean, the opening was really effective with just the talking, could have done with more scenes like that really

        Like

  3. I hadn’t planned on seeing it originally, it looked dull from what I saw in the trailers. But after reading a few good reviews, I decided to give it a try, and I’m glad I did. Quite the good little movie. I saw it in 3D too, but only cause I had no choice, they were only playing it in 3D. If I have a choice I’ll always pick the 2D version (2D? Normal-D? Whatever…) 3D generally gives me a headache, and sometimes even makes me nauseous if they overdo it. But it was good in Gravity, no pain or nausea, which is always a good thing.

    Like

    1. Yeah 3D makes my eyes feel all weird, but I have bad eye sight anyway and have to squeeze my 3D specs over glasses, which isn’t very comfy 😛
      Glad you enjoyed it too!

      Like

  4. Yes, finally, I can finally talk about this film with you. I saw this opening week because of all the hype it was getting in the US. I thought that is was one of the most incredible film experiences I’ve had in a long time, there was just a great sense of atmosphere and some of the most impressive CGI and cinematography I’ve ever seen. I will admit that the film wasn’t as good as I thought it’d be but that doesn’t mean its any less good.

    Like

    1. Definitely a visual masterpiece, I was sort of expecting a bit more too but I can’t quite put my finger on what it was lacking

      Like

Leave a Reply

