What are your Top 5…Book Adaptions

Let the Right One In
Let the Right One In

It’s Wednesday! So that means another top 5 list. This time, what are your top 5 book adaptions. This could be film or TV…your favourite films or shows that were once books.

I’ll get the ball rolling…

  • Let the Right one In
  • True Blood
  • The Shining
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • We Need to Talk about Kevin

I want to know what your top 5 are, so drop your top 5 book adaptions into the comments below!

33 thoughts on “What are your Top 5…Book Adaptions

  1. Hmm.. let’s see…
    – Harry Potter series (especially the last movie)
    – The Hunger Games
    – The Notebook
    – The Perks of Being a Wallflower
    – True Blood

    Like

  2. Top 5 book adaptations, wow…this is a difficult question, but I think I’ll have to go with:

    – The Godfather
    – The Shining
    – A Clockwork Orange
    – The Perks of Being a Wallflower
    – The Green Mile

    Like

  3. I like the list of the previous guests.
    1. The Shining
    2. Into the Wild
    3. Pride and Prejudice
    4. All the Tolkien versions; especially The Two Towers
    5. Of Mice and Men with Malkovich and Sinise

    Like

  4. You seem to have a thing for really dark books! I actually think Let me in was a more faithful adaptation of Let the right one in than the film with the same name

    Like

    1. I do haha
      Horror and crime thrillers are my favourite genres
      I wasn’t keen on Let Me In, not sure why though to be honest…it was a pretty good remake, and unlike many it did the original justice! I just like Tomas Alfredson’s direction more, preferred the atmospherics of the original film

      Like

  5. I’ve only got one, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory.

    It’s funny that both Natasha and Cindy have listed THE SHINING but Stephen King hates the movie with a passion. I love the Shining movie version too.

    Like

      1. Don’t get me wrong, I love Stephen King, but… The real ghost stories from the Stanley Hotel where King stayed before writing the book are compelling. The father walking around with an axe that King admits he took from the Amityville Horror is compelling. The SHINNING, a boy with telepathic powers, the original part of the story that King used to glue it together is the least compelling part of the movie. King says that the male character should be a sympathetic character affected by outside influences, but in the movie he is cold and bad from the onset.

        Like

      2. Yeah they did change the character a little, I read the book and noticed a big difference but still enjoyed both.
        The article’s about the guy that created the original Scott Pilgrim graphic novels…he recently said that the films are too white and that the lack of ethnic diversity is ‘appalling’. Personally, I think that once they’ve sold the rights for someone to make their work into a film, they lose the right to berate the film, because they cashed in on it, and in turn make lots of money off the back of the film. I doubt that either Stephen King or O’Malley (the Scott Pilgrim guy) gave back their cut of the money that the film made!
        I love Stephen King’s work though, I have a collection of his novels and I enjoy his novels most out of everything I read 🙂

        Like

      3. We’re opposites, I’ve seen most of the movies but read few of the books. The two I mentioned are books about writing and are great. The Scott Pilgrim movie was great.

        Like

      4. Lol nah that’s pretty much the same as me…I’ve seen a lot of the films but as I say I’ve only read 2 of his books so far. I do have a big collection but I’m yet to read them…I will do, one day! 😀

        Like

  6. Good topic. Hmm… Let’s see…

    I LOVE The Shawshank Redemption film but shockingly haven’t read it (and I tend to read pretty much all Stephen King). So I’ll just include ones I’ve read. In no order:

    Stand By Me (movie better)
    One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest (prefer movie)
    The Shining (yes, I know King hates the movie)
    The Lord Of The Rings
    The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

    Also, good ones listed above: To Kill A Mockingbird, The Hunger Games, The Green Mile. I actually like most Stephen King adaptations – even the shit ones. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

