Day 11: Your Favourite Movie From Your Childhood

city-slickers-screenshot

Truth is, there are so many films I remember loving when I was a kid that it’s really hard to narrow it down to one! City Slickers is a comedy/western starring Billy Crystal, Daniel Stern and Bruno Kirby. It was released in 1991 and I watched it religiously when I was about eight years old on VHS. I like the sequel, but not quite as much as the original film. I don’t know what it is that I love about it, it’s kind of an odd film for a kid to watch! But I still love it even now and still own it on DVD…I inflicted it on my boyfriend who, it turns out, really liked it as well.
It’s a very funny comedy with a nice Western-ish atmosphere, there’s nothing particularly outstanding about it but it’s a nice film. It’s quite male oriented, but refreshingly tasteful and innocent, it’s a good bit of fun. Arguably the original Hangover but more tasteful and less brash. One of my favourites, probably the most memorable film from my childhood.

4 thoughts on “Day 11: Your Favourite Movie From Your Childhood

  1. I’m like you, there are so many movies that I grew up with, it is hard to single out just one. I will have to say that probably my favorite movie would have to be The Goonies, followed closely by E.T.
    I have fond memories of each of these movies and the impact that they had on my childhood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

