Playing for Keeps

PLAYING-FOR-KEEPS (1)Playing for Keeps is your typical Hollywood rom-com, so for those that can’t put aside their film snobbery for two hours and just enjoy a bit of entertainment, then please do yourselves a favour and steer well clear! Playing for Keeps got some rather negative reviews all round and the general consensus is that the cast was too good for the lacklustre and cliche-fuelled  script.

However, I really enjoyed this film. I wanted a bit of mindless entertainment and I got it. I wanted a laugh and I got it. I wanted to see Gerard Butler in nothing but a towel but those pictures are a LIE, that did not happen! Or at least it didn’t happen in the film I watched! Playing for Keeps does have a ptf day 28 _57.NEFpretty good cast, including Gerard Butler, Uma Thurman and Jessica Biel, and in fairness their talents could have been put to better use. But Playing for Keeps turned out to be a warmly funny film that was refreshingly tasteful.

Ex footballer George is desperate to do right by his son, so he moves back home and ends up becoming the coach for his sons soccer team. Pursued by loads of soccer mums entranced by his gorgeous Scottish accent (and his beautifully sculpted body!) George tries to rebuild his life after falling on hard times, and of course tries to win back the love of his life in the process, who is due to be remarried.

In my opinion, you don’t sit down to watch a rom-com with that kind of 111055_bipremise and expect something Oscar worthy! So the negative criticisms are rather unnecessary. I sat down to watch a rom com and expected it to be cliche, I didn’t set my expectations really high knowing full well they wouldn’t be met, instead I enjoyed a surprisingly warm little rom com (and perhaps enjoyed Gerard Butler’s looks a little too 😉 ) There’s nothing outstanding about the film, the performances were ok, the story was a standard rom com premise and it was completely predictable, but that’s partly what made it so enjoyable. Perfect for when you don’t fancy concentrating too hard on a film, and for when you want something cheesy, girly and completely cliche to make you laugh. It might not be a ‘good’ good film, but I enjoyed it and certainly don’t regret watching it.

One thought on “Playing for Keeps

  1. Its like you learn my mind! You seem to grasp a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I
    feel that you just could do with some p.c.
    to force the message home a little bit, however other than that, that
    is excellent blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

