An Impromptu Poem About the Internet

new_twitter_logo

A stupid little ‘parody’ poem I wrote within the space of about fifteen minutes this afternoon. I used to write a lot of poetry and have had a few published (albeit a long time ago…it makes me cringe reading them back now!) and I regularly wrote humorous, light hearted poems like this to my Aunty, who’d then write one back…we kind of made little poem stories between us, using the same characters (one of which was ‘Olly the Octopus’ … don’t ask). I’ve not written a poem in a long time, but for some reason had the urge!

You’ve Gotta Love the Web

We’re all au fait with Facebook,

We know our Twitter stuff,

Youtube is a doddle

And we just can’t get enough.

GIFs of cats in boxes,

Or huskies that can talk,

What better way to waste your time

Than watch a parrot squawk?

Does anyone really want to see

Your food on Instagram?

Do your followers really care

That you’ve just eaten lamb?!

‘Charlie Bit My Finger’

And all those ‘Harlem Shakes’

Are ‘trending’ on the Internet

But why for goodness sake?

@Twitter’s where it’s really at

You can tweet your fave celeb

Isn’t that #exciting?

You’ve gotta love the web!

My 'Internet Face' ... I spend most of the evening sat like this in my PJs just staring at Facebook and waiting for something interesting to pop up XD
My ‘Internet Face’ … I spend most of the evening sat like this in my PJs just staring at Facebook and waiting for something interesting to pop up XD
5 thoughts on “An Impromptu Poem About the Internet

Leave a Reply

