Silver Linings Playbook

Silver-Linings-Playbook-posterSilver Linings Playbook was nominated for a lot of awards upon its release in 2012 and won an Oscar for ‘Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role’ (Jennifer Lawrence) among other lesser known awards.

It’s a romantic drama about former teacher Pat (Bradley Cooper), who has just been released after a stint in a mental hospital. As he tries to rebuild his life in the hopes of getting back together with his cheating ex wife, he meets and consequently falls in love with Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence).

Lawrence was, as always, top notch, she deserved the Oscar award completely. Bradley Cooper was surprisingly good too; and I say surprisingly because I’ve only ever seen him trying to be funny, and always imagined him as one of those actors who’s the same in everything. I was pleasantly surprised by his performance to say the least.

The story is warm but predictable, it has depth but for me it dragged on far too long. I started to flag half way through and lost silver linings playbookinterest and concentration, to the point of almost giving up and turning it off. There’s just something lacking in my opinion, it’s like a ‘surface’ story, we skim the surface but it’s never particularly deep or interesting. Now that could just be me, I’ve seen loads of great reviews both by professional critics and bloggers alike so obviously it did something right!

It seems to me that any film that deals with mental illness becomes an instant hit. I don’t know whether it’s because people immediately assume it’s deep and meaningful or whether it’s people’s satisfaction watching a film that gives a show of support to all those suffering from mental illnesses. Granted a lot of these kinds of films are very good, I watched and loved One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and that will forever remain one of my favourite films. However for me the hype didn’t quite marry up to what I was seeing.

silver-linings-playbook-review3That being said it’s definitely a good film, I love a good drama and I’m glad that it avoided being a comedy, because that would be the obvious step when you consider the cast. Lawrence and Cooper were great and had a fantastic chemistry. Despite the fact that her age is questionable; I mean, we’re meant to buy into the fact that she had been married three years and her husband had died yet she doesn’t look a day over twenty two, Lawrence was easily the best part of the film. Although it probably would have been preferable to have chosen a slightly older actress, Lawrence’s skills as an actress outweigh the age discrepancies.

10 thoughts on “Silver Linings Playbook

  1. Nice review yo, I really liked this film. I knew virtually nothing about it until I went to watch it in the cinema and it was just a nice little film. I thought the connection between Pat and Tiffany was beautiful. Jennifer Lawrence was fabulous and totally deserved the Oscar she got and just like you I was surprised with Bradley Cooper’s performance. it was stellar for me and probably the first film I really liked him in.

    Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 yeah I haven’t really liked him in anything till this either. They did have a nice connection in the film, Jennifer Lawrence is just amazing!

      Like

  2. Enjoyed the review. (Thoughtful reviews–and this one certainly qualifies–are always a pleasure to read). I’ve heard lots of nice things about the film. It’s on our list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

